Short answer: An electrician comparing a 1000A clamp meter should begin with the job sheet, not the largest number in the title. The Testerac product page identifies the TANS TA813B+ as an AC/DC 1000A clamp meter, with a 9999-count display and stated AC/DC current accuracy of ±2.5%+8. It does not publish a CAT rating, jaw opening, detailed current ranges, low-current resolution, calibration evidence or service life. Those omissions matter when the work has a defined safety category, tight tolerance or restricted cable access. HSE guidance also requires suitable equipment and competent electrical work.
Match the meter to the electrician's task
An electrician may need to investigate a load, compare current between operating states or check a battery-fed circuit. Those tasks still differ in current type, expected magnitude, conductor access and safety controls. The TA813B+ page supports the AC/DC identity and 1000A designation, but it does not prove that the instrument suits every installation or method.
Fluke explains that a clamp meter measures current with the clamp around a conductor and that opposite current paths can cancel when enclosed together. Plan the physical point of measurement before ordering. If the circuit offers no accessible individual conductor, the product's clamp format may not answer the question safely or usefully.
- Write down the circuit type and whether the measurement is AC, DC or both.
- Identify one accessible conductor without disturbing wiring merely to make the clamp fit.
- Record the expected current and the tolerance the result must meet.
- Check that the meter's published information includes every parameter required by the procedure.

Separate the product facts from missing data
The documented facts are narrow: TANS TA813B+, AC/DC, 1000A designation, 9999-count display and ±2.5%+8 AC/DC current accuracy. Keep those facts together when checking the offer. Do not import CAT markings, true-RMS wording, frequency bandwidth, jaw dimensions or included accessories from another clamp meter.
For this product page, CAT rating, jaw opening, detailed ranges, low-current resolution, calibration status and service life are manufacturer does not specify. A professional job may require one or more of those details. The correct response to an absent value is a documentation request or a different instrument, not an optimistic inference.
| Electrician's requirement | What this listing establishes | What remains open |
|---|---|---|
| AC or DC current | AC/DC stated | Task-specific suitability |
| Maximum headline | 1000A designation | Detailed ranges and resolution |
| Display | 9999-count | Useful resolution at the required current |
| Accuracy | ±2.5%+8 stated | Test conditions and job uncertainty |
Apply HSE controls to live electrical work
HSE states that people working on electrical equipment, machinery or installations must be competent, and that the level depends on the task. A buyer should therefore treat the meter as one item in a controlled work process. The product page cannot certify the user's training, the installation's condition or the adequacy of the planned isolation and access controls.
HSE GS38 addresses electrical test equipment used on low-voltage systems. Follow the instrument instructions, use suitable accessories and inspect them before work. Because this listing does not publish a CAT rating or voltage rating, manufacturer does not specify the safety category that would be needed for a particular installation.
Approve, query or reject
Approve the purchase only when the TA813B+ model, AC/DC requirement and expected current fit the job and the missing information is immaterial to the decision. Query the seller or manufacturer when the work depends on CAT marking, jaw opening, low-current resolution, calibration or a defined environmental limit. Reject a substitute labelled TA813A+ AC-only when DC measurement is required.
The useful electrician's record should preserve both evidence and uncertainty. List the five supported product facts, list the missing values, and attach the HSE procedure or company method that governs the job. That is a more defensible buying trail than treating 1000A as a complete specification.
Related guides and product details
Buy the TA813B+ only when its documented AC/DC function answers the job and every safety-critical unknown has been resolved by authoritative documentation. Read AC/DC Clamp Meter 1000A UK: How to Check the TA813B+ for related guidance. Read AC/DC Clamp Meter for Solar Battery Cable Checks for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter product page before ordering.
Sources and safety context
- Supports the exact TA813B+ product facts and the limits of the published specification. Testerac product page.
- Supports one-conductor clamp setup and the need to avoid nearby conductors. Fluke: What is a clamp meter?.
- Supports suitable equipment and accessory checks for low-voltage electrical testing. HSE GS38.
- Supports competence requirements. HSE: Work on electrical equipment, machinery or installations.
