Short answer: The exact product in the Testerac listing is the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter. The page states a 9999-count display and AC/DC current accuracy of ±2.5%+8, and it explicitly excludes the similarly named TA813A+ AC-only variant. That is enough to identify the listed model, but not enough to promise suitability for a particular circuit. The page does not specify CAT rating, jaw opening, detailed current ranges, low-current resolution, calibration status or service life. Treat those gaps as manufacturer does not specify and check them before relying on the meter.
Identify TA813B+ without copying another model
Model-family names are easy to compress in a search result, but the product page is specific: TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter. The TA813A+ AC-only variant is excluded. Preserve that exact identity in the basket, purchase record and workplace equipment list.
Do not import a CAT marking, voltage range, jaw size, true-RMS claim or accessory list from another TASI, TANS or marketplace listing. This page does not publish those details for the selected product. Manufacturer does not specify them.
| Fact | Published for TA813B+ | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Brand and model | TANS TA813B+ | Do not substitute TA813A+ |
| Current | AC/DC stated | Still match the actual circuit |
| Headline | 1000A designation | Not a detailed range table |
| Display and accuracy | 9999-count and ±2.5%+8 | No full uncertainty calculation |

Know what the clamp measurement requires
Fluke's explanation says the jaws should surround a single conductor and that nearby conductors can affect the reading. That is the general setup principle to use when assessing a proposed job. It does not establish that the TA813B+ jaw will fit a particular cable because the product page does not state the opening.
If the intended conductor cannot be reached without moving wiring, opening equipment or working near exposed live parts, pause the purchase decision and use the competent person's method. A 1000A title does not solve an access or safety problem.
- Identify one conductor and the current type before selecting the meter.
- Compare the expected current with the published 1000A designation.
- Confirm jaw opening and cable access from manufacturer information if they matter.
- Record the result requirement and any safety-category or calibration evidence needed.
Keep safety and accuracy claims narrow
The product page states AC/DC current accuracy of ±2.5%+8. Keep that expression intact and do not recast it as a simple percentage. Because detailed ranges and test conditions are not published, manufacturer does not specify enough information for every job-specific uncertainty calculation.
HSE says electrical work must be carried out by people competent for the task. GS38 gives guidance for people using electrical test equipment on low-voltage systems. The product page does not specify CAT rating or voltage rating, so it cannot be used to approve a particular live electrical installation on that basis.
Choose the next evidence, not the next assumption
The TA813B+ is a sensible shortlist item when the task needs an AC/DC clamp format and the listed facts answer the decision. It is not a confirmed fit where the work depends on low-current resolution, known jaw opening, CAT category, calibration traceability, environmental limits or service life. Those values are manufacturer does not specify.
A simple evidence table can be attached to the purchase request: supported fact, source, unresolved requirement and decision owner. That keeps the product page useful without pretending it is a full manual.
Related guides and product details
The TA813B+ is identifiable and comparable, but a responsible purchase still depends on the specifications the product page leaves open. Read 1000A AC/DC Clamp Meter UK: What the TA813B+ Listing Proves for related guidance. Read 1000A Clamp Meter for Electricians: TA813B+ Checks Before Buying for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter product page before ordering.
Sources and safety context
- Supports the exact TA813B+ facts and excluded AC-only model. Testerac product page.
- Supports single-conductor positioning. Fluke: What is a clamp meter?.
- Supports suitable low-voltage electrical test equipment. HSE GS38.
- Supports the statutory competence context for people working on electrical systems. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989.
