Short answer: The phrase AC/DC clamp meter 1000A describes a product category, not a complete buying decision. On Testerac, the exact listing is the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter. It states a 9999-count display and AC/DC current accuracy of ±2.5%+8, while excluding the TA813A+ AC-only variant. The page does not specify CAT rating, detailed current ranges, jaw opening, low-current resolution, calibration or service life. Compare those unknowns with the circuit and procedure before ordering, and use HSE guidance where the work involves electrical equipment or live parts.

What the AC/DC label does establish

The product page supports a simple statement: this listing is for a TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter. That is relevant when the planned work can involve both alternating and direct current. It does not establish that every AC or DC installation is within the meter's safe or useful operating conditions.

Fluke's clamp-meter guidance describes current measurement around a single conductor and warns that nearby conductors can influence the reading. Before comparing prices, check whether the conductor can be isolated physically for the intended observation. The page does not publish jaw dimensions, so manufacturer does not specify whether a particular cable will fit.

Published itemUse in a buying comparisonDo not infer
AC/DCCheck current typeUniversal installation suitability
1000ACompare headline capacityLow-current performance
9999-countCompare display specificationResolution at a chosen range
±2.5%+8Retain full accuracy wordingA complete uncertainty budget
Product feature overview

Use the numbers in their proper order

Start with current type, then expected magnitude, conductor access and required tolerance. The 1000A designation is not a reason to skip those checks. The product page gives no detailed range table or low-current resolution, so manufacturer does not specify where the instrument is most useful below the headline figure.

The 9999-count display and ±2.5%+8 statement should remain exactly as published. They are not interchangeable: display count is not the same as a range-specific resolution, and an accuracy expression without its test conditions cannot answer every job-sheet question. If the measurement is close to an acceptance limit, obtain the missing technical detail.

Keep safety claims inside HSE guidance

HSE's electrical guidance says work on electrical equipment, machinery or installations must be carried out by people competent for the task. That principle applies even when the chosen method is non-contact current measurement. A product description does not make the user competent or prove that the installation has been made safe.

GS38 is aimed at people using electrical test equipment on low-voltage systems. Follow the specific instrument instructions and use suitable equipment and accessories. This listing does not state CAT rating, voltage rating or environmental limits, so do not copy those values from another model.

Make the UK buying decision

The TA813B+ is a candidate when the task needs an AC/DC clamp format and the published facts are enough for the comparison. It is not a confirmed match where the job requires a known CAT category, a specified jaw opening, documented low-current resolution, calibration records or an environmental rating. Those details are manufacturer does not specify on the product page.

A careful order check should show TANS TA813B+ and AC/DC together. Keep a copy of the product page, write down the expected current and list unresolved requirements. If any unresolved requirement can change safety or measurement validity, pause the order and obtain manufacturer documentation.

  1. Confirm the title says TA813B+ AC/DC, not TA813A+ AC-only.
  2. Write the circuit type, expected current and required tolerance beside the product facts.
  3. Check access around one conductor and ask for the missing jaw dimension if it matters.
  4. Do not proceed on a safety-critical unknown such as CAT rating or calibration status.

The TA813B+ page supports a disciplined AC/DC comparison; it does not support filling missing electrical specifications with assumptions. Read AC/DC Clamp Meter for Solar Battery Cable Checks for related guidance. Read AC/DC Clamp Meter UK Electrician Guide: Check the TA813B+ for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter product page before ordering.

Sources and safety context