Short answer: For a UK electrician, the right AC/DC clamp meter is the one whose documented capability matches the circuit and the work method. The Testerac listing identifies the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter, states a 9999-count display and gives AC/DC current accuracy as ±2.5%+8. It does not publish a CAT rating, jaw opening, detailed ranges, low-current resolution, calibration status or service life. Those omissions are material if the job has a defined measurement tolerance, restricted access or a safety-category requirement. Check the evidence before adding it to a professional kit.
Read the order line like a job sheet
The first line should state TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter. That preserves the model suffix, current types and headline designation together. If the order shows only a generic 1000A clamp meter or an AC-only TA813A+, it does not prove that the item matches a job needing DC current.
A current clamp is a measurement tool, not a general replacement for every electrical tester. Define whether the task is current measurement, voltage verification, continuity, insulation or another test before selecting it. The product page only supports the listed product facts and does not describe a full test suite.
| Job-sheet field | Write before purchase | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Exact model | TANS TA813B+ | Avoid the TA813A+ AC-only variant |
| Current type | AC, DC or both | Match the circuit |
| Expected current | Site estimate or measured range | 1000A is only a headline designation |
| Required evidence | CAT, resolution, calibration or jaw size | Manufacturer does not specify some of these |

Check access before specification theatre
Fluke's explanation of clamp meters says to place the clamp around one conductor and avoid nearby current-carrying conductors where possible. That makes physical access a first-order buying check. A meter that cannot close around the intended conductor, or that would enclose opposing paths together, is not made suitable by its 1000A label.
The TA813B+ page does not specify jaw opening, maximum conductor size or a detailed installation guide. Manufacturer does not specify these details. Measure the installation from existing documentation and do not force access by moving covers, terminals or live wiring.
Keep professional safety evidence separate
HSE says electrical work must be done by people competent for the task, and that competence depends on complexity, knowledge, training and experience. The product listing cannot serve as evidence of competence or as a safe-working procedure.
GS38 is specifically aimed at users of electrical test equipment on low-voltage systems. Use suitable equipment and accessories and follow the maker's instructions. Because the product page does not publish CAT rating or voltage rating, manufacturer does not specify the safety category for any proposed installation.
Set the acceptance rule
The TA813B+ is a reasonable comparison candidate only where AC/DC current measurement is the actual need and the required evidence is available. If a job requires a known CAT category, current range and resolution, calibration traceability, jaw dimension or service-life expectation, the product page is insufficient. Obtain the missing manufacturer information before approval.
Keep the full ±2.5%+8 accuracy wording and 9999-count display in the record, but do not convert them into claims about every range or operating condition. A short, honest approval note is stronger than a long specification assembled from unrelated meters.
- Match the model suffix and current type with the job sheet.
- Confirm one-conductor access and request the missing jaw dimension if necessary.
- Compare the stated accuracy with the job tolerance without shortening the expression.
- Reject or query the order when CAT, calibration, resolution or environmental evidence is required but absent.
Related guides and product details
For professional use, the TA813B+ should pass a documented job-specific check; its 1000A title alone is not an approval. Read DC Clamp Meter for a Campervan Battery: UK Buying Checks for related guidance. Read How to Measure Leisure Battery Current Without Disconnecting for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the TANS TA813B+ AC/DC 1000A clamp meter product page before ordering.
Sources and safety context
- Supports the exact model and published product facts. Testerac product page.
- Supports one-conductor access and nearby-conductor caution. Fluke: What is a clamp meter?.
- Supports electrical test-equipment selection and use. HSE GS38.
- Supports competence requirements. HSE: Work on electrical equipment, machinery or installations.
